Untitled Page



Friday, October 08, 2021


2021 whhc 300x225

The 2021 championship has been cancelled - please look for 2022 updates 

The  World Harness Handicapping Championship Presented by DerbyWars.com is the only tournament for harness players to feature a guaranteed prize pool.  Players may earn their way into the championship through participation in a qualifying tournament at a WHHC Presented by DerbyWars.com partner outlet. Info on DerbyWars Qualifiers can be found here. 

Players that qualified in 2020 and didn't request a entry refund will receive their entry in the 2021 Final.



•$1,300 Total Fee ($1,000 entry fee + $300 bankroll) 


• Player's choice of seven  (7) Meadowlands races plus, three (3) designated mandatory races location TBD

• $30 minimum bet per race; $100 maximum bet

• Win, Place, Show and or  any combination of WPS wagers only  

 • One (1) horse per race.
• Contestants keep all pari-mutuel winnings.
• Three (3) entries per person.


  WHHC Presented by DERBYWARS.COM PRIZE STRUCTURE (based on 150 entries) 


$150,000 estimated Prize Pool 
• Payouts to the Top 10, plus players keep their bankroll


• All entry fees will be returned as prize money.
• Order of finish is based on highest accumulated pari-mutuel earnings


Hotel Information  

Courtyard by Marriott 

1 Polito Avenue

Lyndhurst, NJ  07071

Call Chris A Lambo 201-231-8114 to reserve your special WHHC Room rate 


Horseplayers that would like to see a qualifying tournament in their area are urged to contact the marketing department of their local racetrack or wagering outlet.

 2019 Meadowlands Summer Survival Challenge : Leroy Kelly, Scot Strong & Stan Jocz 


Meadowlands November 2019 Qualifier:  Joe Pavlica , Alan Hirschberg 


Meadowlands Free December 2019 Qualifier:  Russ Adams 


Meadowlands January 2020 Qualifier:   Patrick O'Malley, Bob DiPalma, Gary Wagner & Paul Weber 


Meadowlands February 2020 Qualifier:  Anthony Altomonte & William Meisel 


Meadowlands 2021 Winter Survival Challenge:  


Saturday, February 29 - Hawthorne with 2 spots: Nick Battaglia & Dave Sellner 


Saturday, March 21 - Buffalo Raceway with 1 spot   

Derbywars Richard Davis
Derbywars Brian Graziano
Derbywars Del Kern
Derbywars Russell Slader
Derbywars Del   Kern
Derbywars Derick Giwner
Derbywars Russell Slader
Derbywars Russell Slader
Derbywars Gary Scogna
Derbywars Gary Machiz
Derbywars Stanley Koper
Derbywars Stanley Koper
Derbywars Adam Friedland
Derbywars Ryan Clements
Derbywars Brian Graziano
Derbywars Stanley Koper
Derbywars Ryne Olsen
Derbywars Ann Schiro
Derbywars Michael Fitzgerald
Derbywars Nick Montemurro
Derbywars Danielle Galambos




Harness Handicapping Champions  

2019: Russell Slader

2018: Jim Videtic

 2017: Harold "Sonny" Winslow

2016: Stanley Koper

2015: William Meisel

2014: Robert McMasters

2013: Jeff Klahr

2011: Wai Kwong Chen

2010: Joseph Fierro

2009: Michael Rip

2008: David Palmer

2007: Jim Famularo

2006: Scott Alberg

2005: Jim Lang